Sunday, September 25, 2011

Non edited ramble response to one of my BFF's about girlfriends

I miss you too.  I have been working out a lot and as I sit on the recumbent bike and decide to do 15 extra minutes I think of you at the Y being like “Come on, why aren’t you done yet.”  And every time I make a muscle I smile and think of you being like “You better stop lifting those weights.  You better not have big muscley arms for my wedding.”  Ahhhh, we were so young. 

I think that one of the things I missed the most during my marriage was not having girl time with friends.  It’s almost like that part of you ceases to exist.  Sure you grab lunch, or a drink, or do couple things, but it isn’t the same as sitting on the couch and drinking wine while you pass a journal back and forth to each other while you write things back and forth.  It’s not the same as sharing terribly deep and bad poetry with each other, because we both were so terribly deep and cool, and we thought whatever dumb “huge” issue that was weighing on us was going to pull us under.  I miss grabbing beers in sweat pants after working out at the gym and being amazed at all of the boys that would flirt with us when we looked  like crap, because just the weekend before I  took 4 hours to get ready to go out and no one really bothered with me.  I miss screaming because the hottest guy at the office kissed me at the after party and part of the joy was knowing that that skinny bitch we didn’t like, well we knew she was going to be pissed – being able to share that is so pure and amazing.  I miss listening to you recount exactly what the other hot boy at the office said to you, because you had that unspoken thing going on, and we would painstakingly try to  decipher what he meant and if he was purposely trying to be flirty or not.  I miss you getting pissed at me for something stupid I didn’t even realize that I did, and not speaking to me for a long time, because you truly are one of the best grudge holders I know.  You are also one of the best “Oh it’s been 6 months let’s just pretend that this didn’t happen” kind of people as well. I miss just doing nothing but being silly and sharing secrets.  

You get married and you become a “unit” -  you aren’t as open as you were when you were just girlfriends because part of you asks yourself where your loyalty lies and if what you really want and need to share is crossing that “couple” line.  The “I can’t share that because he would be really pissed.”  thing is out there like a great big pink elephant in the room.  Well you know what, I want to know because that loyalty you have, it should be to yourself sometimes.  Girls talk about everything, and I mean everything, and I miss that. I don't think men understand that, sometimes I would love to just look at one of the husbands and say "Yup, I know just how big it is."  Or "Oral sex is for men AND women.  I'm sorry you have "germ" issues, but if you ever want another blow job, you need to get over them."  There are few people in this world that you will ever share a true girlfriend bond with and know that you can say anything and the other person will never mention it again unless you bring it back up.  There are very few people whom you allow to ever know just how truly fucked up of a person that you are, because honestly everyone is truly a fucked up person, but that isn’t something you normally share, because, well, then people would say things like “Wow, she is so fucked up?” and they judge you.  A girlfriend knows, and still loves you, and actually respects your fucked up aspects because that makes you who you are and it makes you even cooler.  A girlfriend knows fucked up shit that even your husband doesn’t know.

Why do we have to grow up, pair off and lose all of that?  I sometimes feel as if that part of me almost died, as if it was on life support for a very long time, but it’s slowly making a recovery.  We deserve to be happy and carefree and silly sometimes.  We deserve to remember who we were, and be that again.  We deserve to want to have that, and we deserve to reclaim it.  We deserve the right to be girlfriends again.  Because when we do reclaim it, we teach our daughters how to own themselves, and be true to themselves, how to love themselves and how to love a girlfriend.  

We forgot what Gibran said about marriage “And stand together yet not too near together: For the pillars of the temple stand apart, And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other's shadow.”  Most of us forget that we still need to stand apart, and when we remember, sometimes it’s too late.

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Bitter sweet

I love painting my room, it's so empowering, especially since it's such a bold purple.  I have been at it for the better part of this evening.  It's starting to look amazing and I love that I will have my shrine to me in front of it.  Everyone should have a shrine to themselves, but that's another post.......

I was sitting on my bed last night and the soon to be ex came in to talk to me about the principessa.  As he turned to walk out he saw the beginnings of the purple paint on my wall and he gasped.  He actually gasped!  My inner bitch took such great glee in that gasp.  It was music to my ears and I reveled in it for the rest of the night.

It's bitter sweet when I think of that gasp.  It's over between us, it has been for a log time, I certainly don't feel romantic love, passion, or desire for him any more, but for years I had been trying to get him to gasp at me, in a good gasping way.  Maybe all it would have taken was for me to paint myself purple. 

Monday, September 12, 2011

The pleasure of my company

I had forgotten how much I liked me, not the miserable me, but the old me, who is also now the new me.  I took the t.v. out of my bedroom so I would actually spend more time with me and I'm really glad I did it.  I am actually writing again, and organizing, and doing decorative paint, and generally really enjoying the pleasure of my own company.

I think that that is becoming a lost art today, enjoying the pleasure of your own company.  Really enjoying being yourself, by yourself.  I am exceptionally clever and witty, if I do say so myself, and it's a great pleasure to actually listen to myself think.  I had forgotten how much I loved "me" time, and "me" space.  I had forgotten how truly delicious it is to be absolutely selfish, not because you are being selfish towards someone else, but because there is only you.  Before I fell in love and got married to my soon to be ex, I had come to the decision that I really didn't ever want to get married.  I liked being able to do what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it.  I liked having my own room.  I liked the fact that if I decided that I should upholster all of my furniture with zebra striped velvet, I could. 

I was concerned that being in a relationship with another person would cause me to have to sort of break up with myself, and it turned out that I did eventually diss myself.  Well me, I'm sorry, but I'm going to do my damnedest to make it up to myself now and Perfect Midnight Iris is just the beginning.  What a future do I have in store!  And I can't wait!

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Perfect Midnight Iris

I have ALWAYS wanted a purple room, so I went out today and I bought myself some purple paint.  Really purple, not violet or lilac, but purple!  And do you know what, it's fucking awesome!!!!  It's called Perfect Midnight Iris, and it is perfect, and Iris is one of my favorite flowers of all time, and I am like a giddy little school girl.  I am so pleased with myself, and proud of myself, and I love it.  I hate painting with rollers, so I bought myself some real paint brushes.  I find painting therapeutic, and considering I'm exceptionally OCD and a perfectionist when it comes to painting it should only take me a month or so.  It's like meditation to me, I completely clear my head and concentrate on having the paint be perfect, and sometimes, just to test myself, I won't use painting tape, I'm that good! Go me!

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Tired

I'm tired of a lot of shit.  I'm tired of not smiling, of stifling my creativity, of being told I am too ill to do things.  I'm tired of the dull and mundane life I have fallen into.  I'm tired of idiots at work.  I'm tired of stupidity, bullshit, inefficiency, and my universe full of missionary position type people.  I am tired of hearing about football, football players, football coaches, football fucking teams.  I'm tired of hearing about computers.  I don't care about what exact show this recording of The Grateful Dead is from. I'm tired of not being able to have conversations about just about anything other than the last three topics mentioned.  I'm tired that you are so fucking nice and I have become a miserable bitch.  I'm tired of people all of a sudden asking me why I am smiling.  I am smiling because I am a phoenix reborn from the ashes of monotony.  I am transitioning to the true, authentic, creative, fun self I once and never was.  I will create, I will be shameless.  I will make mistakes, and have great victories.  I will not be afraid to fail, for if I never try, I never live.  I will be a secret mermaid, and an awesome mother, and a great friend, I will join the PTO and kick some ass.  I will create and learn every single day.  I will remember my struggles and blessings, and every day I will strive to have the courage to get up and head into a future of the unknown, and instead of being afraid of it, I will be excited.  And you know what, if I offend you, I really don't care.